top of page
  • Writer's pictureKeiko

'A Conversation With... Trish Discord'

Trish Discord is a singer-songwriter based in Queens, New York. I came across Trish's music through her 'Mini Stream Mondays' and was really excited to ask about their most recent single 'Strife' and upcoming release 'Desire'. In this conversation, Trish Discord shares the inspiration behind 'Strife' and their plans for the rest of 2021.

Hi Trish, how are you?

Great, excited to connect with a music enthusiast like yourself!


Tell us a bit about yourself!

I am a solo artist from Queens, New York who plays a mixture of indietronica with alternative rock music. I started singing from when I was five years old and got professional lessons on and off from high school to present. I also play guitar and perform every week on my Instagram live concerts “Mini Stream Mondays” at 8:30pm EST. I recently released a new single called “Strife” on all platforms. I will also be releasing a new single called “Desire” on July 30th!


What made you decide to pursue a career in music?

I had always enjoyed music and started writing songs from when I was in high school onward so it just became a natural progression to want to finally present the songs I had been writing all my life.


Who do you consider to be your musical influences?

I would say Paramore/Hayley Williams, Mitski, Falling in Reverse, Talking Heads, and New Order. I think you can really hear some of those influences in “Desire”!


If you could describe your music in three words, what would they be?

Passionate, Intricate, and Meaningful


"...it just became a natural progression to want to finally present the songs I had been writing all my life."

You recently released your single ‘Strife’ a song that explores your experience as an American international student in the UK. Could you tell us a bit about the meaning and inspiration behind the single and how your experience as an international student shaped the track?

“Strife” was written in different parts of my life when political chaos was rampant. I began writing it when I heard the UK Brexit election results. The news was devastating to hear as an international student because this meant that no companies would want to support work visas for recent graduates when they had their own EU employees to worry about now. It also made us feel that we weren’t welcome in the UK as much as we had thought. When I had heard the election results of the US Election I had continued writing the song as it felt like these political events beyond my control would soon alter my life.

“Desire” was inspired by someone I had dated and about how I had felt unsure in having feelings toward them until I was sure that they would accept me for who I am with my “eccentric mind”. It is about having my guard up until I am sure I can trust that the person would not judge me.

You are currently promoting the release of your upcoming album ‘The Aftermath of 2016’, what can you tell us about the album and the recording process behind the project?

Sure! So, I usually record the guitar and vocals at home on Logic then send it off to my producer, Emma Young, who adds synth, drums, and bass. If I feel that the song should have a more complex guitar part or a solo, I also call on my other producer, Devon Aviles, to add that part in. In a few songs (like Desire), I wanted a complex drum part so I have my musician friend Brett Grant add a part in. Once all the parts are put together I send it off to Devon Aviles to have it mixed and mastered along with a reference track of what I would like it to sound like. Devon then mixes it and sends it to me for edits until I am happy with it!


How did lockdown and the pandemic affect your creative process when it came to recording new material?

It made me realize that you don’t need to have a fancy studio to record an album. It can be done at home and still sound great if you have the right people working with you!



What are your plans for the rest of 2021? Will you be playing any live gigs this summer?

My plans are mainly to finish this album. I won’t be playing any live gigs most likely besides the mini stream Mondays because I want to be able to devote time to this album and finish it soon!


What advice would you give to someone who may be interested in pursuing a career in music?

I would tell them to write music that is truly meaningful to them and not what they think “the industry” or a demographic want. Sure it is good to know your audience, especially with marketing but the music should be something genuine and unique.


What do you think it means to be successful in the music industry?

I think being able to connect with an audience of your own fans and feel that your music is appreciated is truly a success


What is the best advice you have received?

It was that “Musicians are not just musicians like they were in the old days when they were ‘discovered’. Now they are bookers, marketers, video editors, etc. because the industry now will only support you after you have learned to do some of those things yourself and gotten your initial audience”


Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions!

Thanks for asking and supporting independent musicians like myself!

 

Check out 'Strife' in the link above or on my Spotify featured artists playlist and support Trish's music in the links below!

Links to Trish Discord's social media pages:






13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page